Mike's Tea Ratings

Briskness Body Aroma
1 3 2
Our Review
This tea has a back story folded into another back story. Queen Catherine was a British queen and she helped popularize tea drinking in England, so we call her the "Patron Saint of Tea." This tea was originally commissioned in 1988 by a branch of the Portuguese government as a project to improve the image of their country. The main project was to build a statue of Catherine of Braganza in the Queens Borough (that borough was named after her) in NYC. That project was dashed, however the tea lived on. It was a bright and exciting day when President of Portugal presented a tin of this tea to the President of China, and even better when the tea was exhibited at the Chinese Museum of Tea in Hangzhou China. This is the only tea from a Western source at this famous tea museum.

Queen Catherine

We created this blend of three Chinese black teas in honor of Queen Catherine of Braganza, who introduced her love of tea to the British. We are priviledged to have this tea featured in the Museum of Tea in Hangzhou, China. Harney & Sons is the only Western tea company to receive this honor.
loose
sachets
tea bags
capsules
All
Queen Catherine - loose tea sample
SKU: 49008-073
$2.00
Queen Catherine - loose 4 oz tin
SKU: 44268
$6.50
Queen Catherine - loose 8 oz tin
SKU: 48081
$12.00
Queen Catherine - 50 sachet bag
SKU: 50508
$19.00
Queen Catherine - loose 1 lb bag
SKU: 41673
$20.00
Quality
5 star :
77%
( 20 )
4 star :
15%
( 4 )
3 star :
8%
( 2 )
Total : 26 Reviews
Sort by:

Items 1 to 10 of 26 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
will always have a tin on my teashelf Review by Lily
Average Review:
I usually drink flavored black tea , but I decided to be more of a purist and try this one, for someone like me I thought a blend would be easier to like.I love this tea,4.5stars. (Posted on 6/10/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
A wonderful tea...!! Delicious, unusual, and a taste that calls for a second cup - or more. Review by AngelaJerusalem
Average Review:
I've just finished a 4oz bag of this tea (together with various others from Harneys such as Livingstonia, Golden Blend, Anniversary) and am now missing it so much! A wonderful tea... Delicious, unusual, and a taste that calls for a second cup - or more. (Posted on 4/2/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
This is IT! ....And the price is right. Review by Sandy
Average Review:
When our former tea merchant retired I was sad to lose a superior English breakfast. Have tried several suppliers but this is the one that is a close match. Harneys is our new supplier of breakfast tea. (Posted on 2/27/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Best blend ever! Review by JayGee
Average Review:
Bought a tin of QC in a shop about 15 years ago--what a find. It is still my favorite of the many black tea blends I have tried from Harney's and other blenders. Deeply satisfying w/o heaviness. Takes milk well too. (Posted on 2/17/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Cup of Queen Catherine at Cambridge Tea House Columbus Ohio Review by CCF
Average Review:
Just had the best cup of QC blended black tea at the Cambridge Tea House along with the best scone,outside of England. I am going to order a pound right now. (Posted on 1/3/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Best black tea I've tried Review by keychange
Average Review:
Probably the best black tea I've ever tasted in my life. Rich, deep. and reminiscent of sitting around a campfire on a cold winter's evening. I will reorder! (Posted on 12/10/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
A black tea that I can enjoy Review by Jdar
Average Review:
This is it! I thought I didn't like black tea anymore, until I read the story of the evolution of black tea tastes in England over the centuries (thanks Harney folks!). Queen Catherine has depth and complexity without a bit of that "pucker" that is horrid to me :-) (Posted on 7/7/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
My favorite black tea blend. Review by PED
Average Review:
This is my favorite black tea blend that H&S sells. I was bummed to find they were out of stock when I went to reorder. This is truly a morning staple for me. It has a very smooth flavor with no "bite" or bitterness, but it also is not too flowery. (Posted on 5/27/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Queen Catherine Review by Francesca
Average Review:
The more I drink this tea, the more I love it. I realized that I needed to put less than a teaspoon to make it "right" for me. I absolutely love that honey sweetness that comes through so clearly. It is a lovely blend and you really can taste the "pepper" along with a hint of smokiness. This will be my favorite afternoon tea, for it really does lift me up. Incidentally, I have re-steeped this tea blend many times over and the honey sweetness does not seem to fade. I'm thankful that Harney and Sons offer sample size teas for sale, for that is how I got introduced to this fine tea blend. I will include the Queen Catherine Blend in my next order, for sure. (Posted on 5/7/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
My favorite unflavored tea Review by Colleen
Average Review:
Great for breakfast, I especially love the malt kick and smoothness of it. I think it holds up well to cream and is strong without being bitter. This is one of the only teas I actually run out of. (Posted on 4/17/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it

Login to add review


Buy this product to add review