Mike's Tea Ratings

Briskness Body Aroma
3 3 5
Our Review
This is the green tea that many of us and our parents grew up with. Many of us crave its roasted and assertive flavors. It is made from the tougher leaves. These leaves are fixed green and then fired for an extended period in a hot rotating oven.

Gunpowder Green

When John Harney started in the tea trade over 30 years ago, there were just two green tea offerings from China: Gunpowder and Chun Mee. Many people are very familiar with and enjoy the charred, sharp flavor.
loose
sachets
tea bags
capsules
All
Gunpowder Green - loose tea sample
SKU: 49008-001
$2.00
Gunpowder Green - loose 4 oz tin
SKU: 44228
$6.25
Gunpowder Green - loose 8 oz tin
SKU: 48016
$11.50
Gunpowder Green - loose 1 lb bag
SKU: 41638
$19.00
Gunpowder Green - 50 sachet bag
SKU: 50521
$19.00
Quality
5 star :
56%
( 5 )
4 star :
11%
( 1 )
3 star :
11%
( 1 )
2 star :
22%
( 2 )
Total : 9 Reviews
Sort by:

9 Item(s)

per page
Not A Favorite Review by Sally
Average Review:
I typically love Harney teas, but this was an exception. Reminiscent of cigarette smoke. (Posted on 8/9/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
We love coffee and tea and this tea marries both flavors perfectly. Review by Kathy
Average Review:
The roasted flavor is what makes this tea. We don't like the "grassy" (vegetal) flavor of most green tea, and this one is a perfect blend of robust flavor and light taste. Wonderful aroma too. If you enjoy coffee, you will love this tea. (Posted on 11/24/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Chinese restaurant tea. Review by Spike Sagal
Average Review:
Tastes exactly like what the Chinese restaurants serve in NYC. (Posted on 7/22/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Iced and Hot this is wondrful Tea Review by Bob
Average Review:
Having been raised on iced tea I searched for a highquality tea to continue the tradition. The smokey tea flavor is quite wonderful. (Posted on 9/13/12)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Not for people who like smoky flavors Review by Darren
Average Review:
I'm always a big fan of trying new teas, but I was not a big fan of this one. The smoke taste is a bit overpowering and it doesn't allow you to get to taste the green tea. If you want a green tea try genmaicha or organic sencha, those are my favorites (Posted on 5/15/11)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Great! Review by Jason
Average Review:
I always try some new teas when I place an order. I tried a 4 ounce tin of the Gunpowder Green. My next order, I ordered a pound of it. I think that says what I thought of it, if not why. (Posted on 11/23/10)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
gunpowder tea Review by Rebecca
Average Review:
A wonderful tea, it is very good as an ice tea. It is the only ice tea my husband will drink. (Posted on 11/26/09)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Great with the addition of mint Review by Michael
Average Review:
On its own, an assertive green tea with nice charred vegetal flavors. (Posted on 9/15/09)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
We order this in bulk Review by Sandra
Average Review:
This is a tea that both my husband and I both like to drink together. (Posted on 8/20/09)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it

Login to add review


Buy this product to add review