Mike's Tea Ratings

Briskness Body Aroma

Tokyo

Japan's capital city of Tokyo inspired our delightful green tea blend of Bancha with toasted sesame seeds and caramel flavors. Recalling our many visits there, we wanted to create a taste reminiscent of the city's impeccably presented desserts.
loose
sachets
tea bags
capsules
All
Tokyo – Loose Tea, Sample
SKU: 49008-123
$2.00
Tokyo – Loose Tea, 4 oz Tin
SKU: 44439
$7.50
Tokyo – Loose Tea, 1 lb Bag
SKU: 41857
$24.00
Quality
5 star :
45%
( 5 )
4 star :
27%
( 3 )
3 star :
9%
( 1 )
1 star :
18%
( 2 )
Total : 11 Reviews
Sort by:

Items 1 to 10 of 11 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Disappointingly bitter Review by Barbara
Average Review:
As Carol mentioned in September 2015, the appearance of the tea in my sample was nothing like the photo accompanying the listing. The leaves were tiny and needle-like, and bright green. I steeped my sample @180 for a bit over a minute. While the caramel aroma was encouraging, the flavor was bitter. I doubt I will buy this again unless the rave reviews start showing up again in a future season. (Posted on 2/9/16)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Excellent tea but quality poor lately. Review by Carol
Average Review:
This has always been my favorite tea. It's smooth and refreshing, and the caramel adds just the right note. The last several times I've purchased it, however, I've ended up throwing most of it out because more than 50% of the container has been powder, not the big leaves in the photo. The fact that I keep buying it after I throw out most of the container is a testament to how good this tea can be. I hope the quality will be restored to what it was. (Posted on 9/30/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
New favorite green Review by Snowdrift
Average Review:
I got a sample of this along with a few some flavored blacks and interesting looking greens. This one surprised me. The caramel flavors really shine through, and the sesame is a sublime touch. Will definitely be ordering this one again. (Posted on 5/1/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Caramel=Yummy! Review by Ashely
Average Review:
Caramel has always been one of my favorite sweets and this tea delivers with the caramel flavor. I also thought the mix was really fun with the real sesame seeds in it! This is a kind of tea that I can drink after dinner and feel like I satisfied my sweet tooth. I wouldn't drink this as a first thing in the morning drink however, because of the sweet flavor, but if you are looking for a relaxing and fun evening green tea this is for you. (Posted on 4/18/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Perfume-like Review by Spike Sagal
Average Review:
Vanilla flavor, with no briskness at all. Not really my cup of tea, but an interesting drink nevertheless. (Posted on 7/25/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Really lovely Review by Shannon
Average Review:
This is definitely one of the better flavoured green teas out there. The subtle caramel doesn't detract from the real green tea flavour, it's more like a sweet aftertaste that's really lovely when you're drinking tea late at night and don't want something that needs sugar. It's clean and comforting, and doesn't have the usual bitterness or vegetal flavour of a green tea. It has a really light liquour, just like the photo. I do think this tea needs to be made in a teapot, or an infuser with enough room for the surprisingly whole and large leaves to unfurl for full flavour. (Posted on 4/4/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Great Japanese blend! Review by John
Average Review:
One of the best green teas I've ever had! It's great to have when you are bored and watching TV; and it's great because it has a good balance of sweetness and lightness, making it very good. (Posted on 1/4/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Best Flavored Green Tea! Review by Benjamin
Average Review:
This is by a wide margin the best flavored green tea on the market. You don't want to pass it up. (Posted on 12/2/12)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Best green tea ever! Review by Erika
Average Review:
This is my most favorite green tea. If you are considering trying it, you won't regret it! (Posted on 11/18/12)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Very smooth, subtle flavored green tea Review by Janice
Average Review:
This along with Bankok is one of my favorite Harney teas; I prefer the Bankok slightly, perhaps because the sesame-caramel notes in the Toyko tea are more subtle than the flavor notes in the Bankok tea, but nonetheless this is a wonderfully smooth flavored green tea. (Posted on 8/4/11)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it

Login to add review


Buy this product to add review