Mike's Tea Ratings

Briskness Body Aroma
1 4 5
Our Review
Lapsangs comes from The Wuyi Mountains (WuyiShan) in the northeastern part of Fujian Province. This was where black teas were first developed (called Bohea.) In the steeply forested mountains wood was plentiful, so it came naturally to smoke tea like bacon. The leaves were slowly withered to create a complex tea, then the leaves were slowly dried in rooms with a smoky fire below.

Lapsang Souchong

An ancient and much loved tea from China, large leaves are dried over smoky pine fires. As you might imagine, the tea develops a distinctive smoky flavor. Give it a try when you want a change of pace.
loose
sachets
tea bags
capsules
All
Lapsang Souchong – Loose Tea, Sample
SKU: 49008-011
$2.00
Lapsang Souchong – Loose Tea, 3 oz Tin
SKU: 44238
$7.00
Lapsang Souchong – Loose Tea, 6 oz Tin
SKU: 48013
$12.00
Lapsang Souchong – Loose Tea, 1 lb Bag
SKU: 41649
$22.00
Lapsang Souchong – Tea Sachets, Bag of 50
SKU: 50504
$21.00
Quality
5 star :
63%
( 12 )
4 star :
26%
( 5 )
3 star :
5%
( 1 )
2 star :
5%
( 1 )
Total : 19 Reviews
Sort by:

Items 1 to 10 of 19 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
"Smoky" is quite literal. Review by Kat
Average Review:
If you've never tried a "smoky" tea before, be sure you try a sample, first, like I did. When I opened the package, I was overwhelmed by a very strong campfire smell... the type you might expect when opening a bag of charcoal to grill with. I suppose some people enjoy this, as evidenced by other reviews, but this is the first time I've poured a cup of tea down the sink rather than drink it. Barbecue is not what I'm looking for in a morning tea! While I personally found it undrinkable, I still gave it 3 stars because the description is technically accurate. (Posted on 3/11/16)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
One of my favorites Review by Barbara
Average Review:
I first learned of lapsang souchong when I read a description in James Michener's novel _Centennial_! I was immediately fascinated by the "smoky, tarry" tea and went out to buy some the very next day. Over the years I have tried it in bags and as loose tea, from a variety of providers, and Harney's is one of my top two. It's also one of my favorite Harney teas, and I drink several cups a week, usually at breakfast. If you enjoy smoky teas, give the grandaddy of them all a try. (Posted on 2/10/16)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Great Expectations Review by L1S1L4
Average Review:
I really appreciate this tea, I use this when things are a bit crazy at work and I need to pick it back up even though I am wearing down.

When I open the can I get the great smokey flavor which reminds me of calm days spent in front of my barrel smoker waiting to enjoy brisket, chicken, and other delicious foods.

For the five minutes its in the infuser I watch the color develop and bask in the aroma put out.

After it fills my mug and I take that first bracing drink I am mentally rejuvenated and ready to rock. (Posted on 10/4/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Good smoky tea Review by Patrick
Average Review:
Be warned - this is a very smoky tea, good for those that enjoy a Russian Caravan blend. It is a bit smokier than others I've tried, but I enjoy the taste. (Posted on 9/15/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Favorite tea Review by Ema
Average Review:
I was surprised by how balanced this tea was. I just moved from Europe, and I used to buy lapsang souchong from Sweden or France. This is the first time when the briskness is just right for my palate. It's been my favorite tea for the last 6 years, and it always takes me back to camping in the mountains in the summer.
I would recommended it particularly to those who love smoked cheese, or meat. (Posted on 3/2/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Beach Bonfire in a Cup Review by Vinsc44
Average Review:
Though the heavy aroma of smoke sends my family scattering, the scent is warming and homey, like a beach bonfire. For me, it's the perfect eye (and nose) opener in the morning. I would rate this a little brisker than a 1. (Posted on 4/1/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Unique and delicious Review by Tiffany
Average Review:
The smell is like being near a campfire, and adds to the warming effect of drinking the tea. The tea is very well balanced. You might think that the smoky flavor would make it brisk, but it's very mild briskness and big body makes it very approachable and addictive. (Posted on 3/30/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Good for a winter day Review by Teresa
Average Review:
This is my go-to tea for cold days. I live in Alaska, so it becomes my main drink for half the year. Very tasty, smoky, and energizing. We often serve it with a squeeze of lemon or with milk but I prefer it black. I love the stuff. Delicious! (Posted on 2/22/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Smoky and complex Review by Krista
Average Review:
I had this tea again at the tea tasting room and a couple along side me tried it as well. I love Lapsang Souchong because it resonates with different parts of the nose, mouth, and throat at different stages of experiencing the tea. It is strong, smooth, and refreshing; leaving the stomach full and the back of the throat feeling airy once finished. The man next to me commented that perhaps this tea may be good for a smoker trying to quit because of this tea's many experiential qualities. They've also made a cheese with it and you can try it grilled on a sandwich at their cafe, which I can not wait to do! (Posted on 1/12/14)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
My daily morning regimen Review by Liz
Average Review:
30 years ago I gave up coffee due to severe heartburn. I switched to tea but the standard fare did not offer me the same punch or flavor. How wonderful my discovery of Lapsang Souchong: strong, smokey, powerful, it gets my motor started every morning adn clears the cobwebs of sleep. It's the closest brew to coffee with all the good side effects. I drink it daily and love it! This is not a tea for the faint of heart: Beware to the uninitiated: the aroma of a fresh brewed cup may cause some to think there's a burning ember afoot. (Posted on 12/15/13)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it

Login to add review


Buy this product to add review