Mike's Tea Ratings

Briskness Body Aroma
4 4 4
Our Review
To help you make the delightful Indian beverage of Chai, we created this blend. It is strong and definitely spicy, although we do not add the peppers found in many Indian Chai recipes. Just add the milk and sugar you think is correct. It may also be drunk on its own.

Chai

We have created a new blend similar to our Indian Spice, but a bit spicier and with a hint of natural vanilla flavor. The blend contains Indian Black Tea, cardamom seeds, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and natural cardamom and vanilla flavors.
loose
sachets
tea bags
capsules
All
Chai - loose tea sample
SKU: 49008-239
$2.00
Chai - loose 4 oz tin
SKU: 44028
$7.00
Chai - loose 8 oz tin
SKU: 48104
$12.50
Chai - loose 1 lb
SKU: 41737
$20.50
Chai - 50 sachet bag
SKU: 50580
$19.50
Premium Chai - 20 tea bag box
SKU: 30032
$6.00
Quality
5 star :
25%
( 4 )
4 star :
19%
( 3 )
2 star :
6%
( 1 )
1 star :
50%
( 8 )
Total : 16 Reviews
Sort by:

Items 1 to 10 of 16 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
Disappointing Review by Elle
Average Review:
Please please please bring back Indian Spice!!! This blend is not even close! Wil not be purchasing this again and I gave it a fair shot. Used. All of a 1lb bag. (Posted on 8/27/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Wonderful flavors, but I miss the peppery bite! Review by Nat
Average Review:
I really enjoy the complex, spicy flavors of this chai but I must admit that I do miss that slight tingly burn of black pepper and ginger I've experienced with other chais (although the flavor of those other chais do not compare to this one). After brewing this tea haven't experienced any bitterness at all, perhaps my tastes are different or I'm brewing a less concentrated tea. The cardamom and nutmeg are the first ones to hit my palate, then the cloves, cinnamon with the vanilla rounding out the finish. On occasion I've added ground black pepper into the loose tea to get some of that missing bite, a bit of a cheater's hack, but it works! I haven't tried the old formula, but if it was peppery I imagine it must have been amazing, nevertheless I still think this is a very good chai and I haven't found any to top it that I can find commercially. (Posted on 8/16/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Bitter tasteless tea Review by Blue Lotus
Average Review:
This is no chai tea!! I don't know what it is. I brew my own Indian tea as I have seen my aunts and grandmas do it and the last blend totally replaced that lengthy process of adding each spice one by one. I picked this up and made the mistake of buying a 1lb bag but wow what a weird taste profile. I ended up mixing it with some Brooke Bond - your typical Indian department store tea to make the blend palatable. Almost done with it. Will probably throw the last bit out but pass on it folks. It's a waste. (Posted on 7/15/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Not really thrilled.... Review by Johanna
Average Review:
I brew this after reading the reviews...Extra tea to counter act the weak taste, but not as long as suggested to avoid the bitterness mentioned. But nope. I'm not getting anything but a mild tea flavor, no spice, but plenty of bitterness. Strange. (Posted on 4/22/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Dissapointed Review by colin
Average Review:
I was a huge fan of the old blend. As others have noted this new blend is much weaker. I usually compensate by adding a little bit extra into the bag. The tea starts off with a really good flavor. It's not the normal flavor you would associate with a chai, but there was one Indo Pak restaurant that had a chai like it. They would add a bit of fennel into their blend. If the tea maintained this flavor I would like this new blend too. I would think, "it's not like the old blend but its good in its own way." Sadly the tea does not stay like this. The further down into the cup you get the more bitter it becomes. I made the mistake of drinking that last little ring of tea right before I went to rinse the cup and it was quite possibly the worst thing i have ever tasted, it was nothing but a pure bitter flavor. There were no other flavors mixed in with the bitterness. You could not taste the cream or the sugar that was in the tea, everything was totally overpowered by the bitterness. I hate wasting stuff. so the fact that i have to throw out the bottom half of my tea in order to enjoy it really bothers me.

(Posted on 3/25/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Memories Review by geeque
Average Review:
I have such fond memories of Indian Spice. I would go far out of my way to make sure that my Chai was brewed with Indian Spice. The new Chai recipe is just not the same. And for real fans of the previous blend, it is not even close to the deeply satisfying pleasure I enjoyed with Indian Spice. Please bring the old blend back. Please?! (Posted on 3/22/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Not a good chai Review by Erin
Average Review:
This tea was introduced as a replacement for Indian Spice, and it's not a good substitute, or even a good basic chai. The flavors are too subtle for a proper spiced tea. Missing Indian Spice. (Posted on 3/2/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
A quality chai Review by Tyler
Average Review:
It has everything you'd come to expect from a chai tea, there is a warmth to it from the spices that make up the blend. They aren't quite as pronounced as I would have liked however. I wanted a bit more of a kick from all of those spices, similar to what you get in the hot cinnamon spice tea, but here its a fair bit more mild, they are certainly there, but are hidden behind a thin veil. For me personally, drinking the tea straight isn't my favorite, mostly because I feel the flavors aren't pronounced enough, but with some cream or milk and a small bit of sugar this tea is my early morning staple right now. Works perfectly for when I'm not in the mood for a full pot of tea but still want some. (Posted on 2/24/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Alas and Alack - Lacks Chai Qualities Review by Gene
Average Review:
A weak flowery (perfume) aroma and no substitute for the loss of Harney and Son's Indian Spice tea. Something went wrong. (Posted on 2/2/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it
Disappointing Review by LongtimeCustomer
Average Review:
If you are looking for a replacement for Harney's Indian Spice tea, this isn't it. Lacks the body and spice. Will look for chai tea elsewhere. (Posted on 1/17/15)
Share this review
Do you find this review helpful?  Yes No
 
Inappropriate review? Report it

Login to add review


Buy this product to add review